Catching Up

Happy 2013!  I have to slip this blog post in while the year is still “new”.  It’s been almost a year since I said I would try to keep this blog more current, but the end of the year does seem to get away from me between finishing projects, hosting family dinners and enjoying the festivities of the holidays.

So…  here’s a quick recap of the end of 2012.  The executive desk (which I had the luxury of working on at my leisure between other projects) was finished and delivered.  I wanted this to be a showcase piece.  As noted in earlier posts, I used cherry hardwood, curly maple veneers and included a walnut inlay.  The finished project is beautiful.

desk10

desk14

desk11The drawer boxes were made of birch and joined with walnut pegs (though you cannot quite see that detail in this picture).

desk detailI love this picture of the desk detail.

desk installedAnd here is the desk after delivery.  The client chose long antique bronze drawer pulls, which complimented the style of the desk.

In addition to various corporate projects that kept me busy at the end of the year, I also had some fun making butcher block cutting boards out of cherry, maple, and walnut.  These were popular with people who really enjoy cooking and several were given as holiday presents.

cutting board 2 cutting board 3 cutting board 4

 

2013 is off to a great start.  I have started working on some wall cabinets to install as gallery pieces and have a bed and entertainment center to build for a client.  In addition, I am partnering with Infinity Cutting Tools to teach some woodworking classes.  Our first offering is an Introduction To Routing & Router Bits class on February 9, 2013.  If you are in the Tampa Bay area and interested, you should check it out!

Looking forward to the new opportunities and exciting projects this year will bring!

 

Leave a Reply

