Mixing Media

I love to draw.

Doodles.  Illustrations.  Cartoons.

Whatever you want to call them, if there is a piece of paper and pen in front of me, there will soon be drawings.

drawing

And if I go to a restaurant that uses brown paper instead of linens on the table, there will also soon be drawings.

table

But when I first started woodworking, I did not think about merging my drawings with my furniture.  One was fun and not meant for public dissemination; the other was refined.  But soon, I started realizing that many of my favorite furniture artists are ones who weave whimsy into their art, and I thought about adding more fun elements – that are more expressive of my personality – into my pieces.  I drew inspiration from people like Katie Hudnall (www.katiehudnall.com), and first introduced drawings on milk paint to a China Cabinet I made several years ago.

On the outside, it is refined:

Louis Cahill Photography

On the inside – fun:

Louis Cahill PhotographyIMG_0845 IMG_0846

After not really mixing media for a couple years, I recently started finding joy in drawing again.  In the last couple of months, I’ve done a few drawings on milk painted maple plywood as stand alone pieces for friends and family.

fish

And I’ve been working on some wall cabinet prototypes that blend cabinetry and drawings like my China Cabinet:

photo 1 photo 4

Meanwhile, one of our local restaurants, Datz (www.datzdeli.com), is featuring the artwork of different local artists or designers on its menu covers.  I was invited to submit a drawing, and my artwork is currently on the cover:

Datz

I’ve been having a lot of fun with my drawings lately.  Hope you enjoy them, too.  More mixed media wall cabinets are in the works.  Stay tuned.

One thought on “Mixing Media

  1. I have always thought it would be fun to collaborate with an artist like http://www.jessnyc.com/ and build a cabinet with panels painted by her. Seeing yours makes me want to give this a try! I’m jealous that the artist you collaborate with is “in house” with you.

Leave a Reply

